Members are invited to attend selected Clubhouse private parties which take place at the appointed Clubhouse in Shanghai during the races for the worlds most prized trophies. Theses parties are as follows:

2012 Dubai World Cup, Meydan, UAE 27th March (Sun)      (China timezone)

Black, Grey and Blue badge Members are invited to attend this private party.

The Dubai World Cup has been held annually since 1996 at the Nad Al Sheba Racecourse in the city of Dubai, United Arab Emirates. The race was the creation of the Ruler of Dubai Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum who owns Darley Stud & Godolphin Racing, one of the world’s leading thoroughbred breeding and racing operations. Winner: Gloria De Campeao owned by Estrela Energia Stables

Kentucky Derby , Churchill Downs, USA 5th May (Sat)  06:30am 6th May (China timezone) 

Black, Grey and Blue badge Members are invited to attend this private party.

The Kentucky Derby is an American horseracing event that is run at a distance of ten furlongs on the dirt track of Churchill Downs racetrack. This grade I racing event is open to three year old thoroughbred horses. The race is known in the United States as The Most Exciting Two Minutes in Sports for the approximate duration of this race. It is also called The Run for the Roses as a blanket of roses is draped over the winner. The Kentucky Derby is the first leg of the American Triple Crown for thoroughbred horses in the United States. In the initial years, the Kentucky Derby was run at a distance of one and half miles but it was changed to one and one fourth miles from 1896. The Kentucky Derby was set in motion on May 17, 1875, in front of ten thousand highly enthusiastic crowds. Though the first race was a grand success, the racing event went through some financial difficulties afterwards. Between 1875 and 1902, an afro-American jockey Alonzo Clayton won the derby at 15 and set a record of winning this event as the youngest rider. The first national television coverage of the Kentucky Derby took place on May 3, 1952. Triple Crown winner Secretariat clocked the record time that has remained unbroken for the last thirty-five years. In 2004, the court passed a writ through which jockeys were allowed to wear advertising logos on their clothing. The system of distributing the purse was changed in 2005 – through which the horses finishing fifth would also receive a share of the purse. The well-known designer, Norman Adams, has been designing logo of the Kentucky Derby since 2002. Prize Money total is US$2,000,000

Gold Cup, Royal Ascot , UK 16th June (Thurs)      (China timezone)

All Members are invited to attend this private party.

The event was established in 1807, and it was originally open to horses aged three or older. The inaugural winner, Master Jackey, was awarded prize money of 100 guineas. The first race took place in the presence of King George III and Queen Charlotte. The 1844 running was attended by Nicholas I of Russia, who was making a state visit to England. That year’s winner was unnamed at the time of his victory, but he was given the name “The Emperor” in honour of the visiting monarch. In return Nicholas offered a new trophy for the race — the “Emperor’s Plate” — and this became the title of the event for a short period. Its original name was restored after nine years, during the Crimean War. The Gold Cup is the first leg of Britain’s Stayers’ Triple Crown, followed by the Goodwood Cup and the Doncaster Cup. The last horse to win all three races in the same year was Double Trigger in 1995. There have been a number of repeat winners of the Gold Cup, and the most successful is Yeats, who recorded his fourth victory in 2009. The trophy is currently one of three at Royal Ascot traditionally presented by the Queen. Prize money total is £250,000

Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe, Longchamp, France 2nd October (Tues) 10:40pm (China timezone)

All Members are invited to attend this private party. 

Popularly referred to as the “Arc”, it is the most prestigious horse race in Europe, and one of the most renowned international events in any sport. Many of its winners are subsequently regarded as champions, and its roll of honour features such highly acclaimed horses as Ribot, Sea Bird, Dancing Brave and Sea the Stars. It is currently the world’s second richest horse race on turf, after the Japan Cup. Prize money total is EURO4,000,000.

British Champions Stakes, Ascot Racecourse, England, 20th October 2012 (Sat) 11.10pm (China timezone)

Black, Grey and Blue badge Members are invited to attend this private party.

With £1.3m in prize money, the QIPCO Champion Stakes over 1 mile 2 furlongs (2,000 metres) will be the most valuable horse race even run in Britain. Following on from iconic races like the Investec Derby (which at £1.25m is now the second most valuable race in the country) and King George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes sponsored by Betfair (which at £1m is the joint-third most valuable British Flat race), this will be the final, pulsating showdown in the QIPCO British Champions Series Middle Distance category. The race brings a great heritage from Newmarket, where it was run from its inception in 1877 until last year. But the dramatic injection in prize money (last year’s race was worth £350,000) that has accompanied its move to become the glittering highlight of the new QIPCO British Champions Day at Ascot is set to change its status completely.  Now it can compete in financial terms on flat racing’s international stage. Open to any horse aged three years or older, the QIPCO Champion Stakes is sure to be high in the thoughts of one owner, trainer and jockey in particular as the season unfolds. Prince Khalid Abdulla, one of flat racing’s greatest patrons over several decades, legendary Newmarket trainer Henry Cecil and his stable jockey, Tom Queally, have been in the Newmarket winner’s enclosure after each of the last two runnings of the race, thanks to Twice Over.  Only once has a horse won it three times and that occurred back in 1882-84 when Tristan registered a hat-trick.

Melbourne cup, Flemington , Australia 6th November 2012 (Tue) 12:00 (China timezone)

All Shanghai Race Club members are invited to attend this private party.

The Melbourne Cup is Australia’s major annual thoroughbred horse race. Billed as The race that stops a nation, it is a race for three-year-olds and over, over a distance of 3,200 metres. It is the richest and most prestigious “two-mile” handicap in the world, and one of the richest turf races in the world. Prize money total is AUS$6,000,000

Japan Cup, Tokyo Racecourse, Japan 27th November (Sun)  4:20pm (China timezone)

Black, Grey and Blue badge Members are invited to attend this private party.

The Japan Cup is the most prestigious horse race run in Japan. It is contested at the end of November at Tokyo Racecourse in Fuchu, Tokyo at a distance of 2400 meters (about 1 ½ miles) over the grass. With a purse of Jp¥528,500,000  the Japan Cup is the richest race on turf in the world, and one of the richest horse races in the world.


Hong Kong Cup, Shatin, Hong Kong 11th Dec 2011 (Sun)  4:45pm (China timezone)


All Members are invited to attend this private party.

The Hong Kong Cup is a Group 1 flat horse race in Hong Kong which is open to thoroughbreds aged three years or older. It is run over a distance of 2,000 metres (about 1¼ miles) at Sha Tin, and it is scheduled to take place each year in mid December. Prize money total is HK$20,000,000.

Shanghai Race Club live updates for free via Twitter,Weibo,Linkedin,Email,Facebook